Back to All Events

EMPOWERMENT


  • The Black & White Building 74 Rivington Street EC2A 3AY London, United Kingdom (map)

To celebrate International Women’s Day we have joined forces with Nasty Women New York, Amsterdam, Lisbon, North East, and London to celebrate the work of international feminist artists.

Expect to see a range of contemporary artwork including photography, sculpture, craft, fine art, and film whilst raising money for End Violence Against Women. RSVP is essential!

RSVP is essential! Head to www.eventbrite.com/e/nasty-women-exhibition-tickets-41383378800 for more info, tickets and donations

Follow us on Instagram on @CreativeDebuts for more news.

THE EVENT IS NOW IN COLLABORATION WITH @CreativeDebuts

Event Times
Thursday - 7pm - 11pm (SOLD OUT)
Friday - 7pm - 11pm (AVAILABLE)

For press enquiries and tickets contact sara@creativedebuts.co.uk

Artists Exhibiting
Airco Caravan - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/artists/airco-caravan
Ana Rosa Louis - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/ana-rosa-louis
Angharad Pelling -www.creativedebuts.co.uk/angharad-pelling
Ashton Attzs - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/ashton-attzs
Caley Holmboe - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/caley-holmboe
Catherine Howell - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/catherine-howell
Chavaga Lilya - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/lilya-chavaga
Chewon Kim - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/chewon-kim
Diane Watson - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/diane-watson
Eve De Haan - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/eve-de-haan
Flora Weil - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/flora-weil
Floss Given - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/florence-given
Francena Ottley - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/lebleuart
Helena Cardow - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/helena-cardow
Isabel Rock - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/isabel-rock
Jasmine Sehra - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/jasmin-sehra
Jekein Lato-Unah - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/jekein-lato-unah
Jessica Ross - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/jessica-ross
Kei Maye - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/kei-maye
Ken Nwadiogbu - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/ken-nwadiogbu
Lila Ash - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/lila-ash
Mercedes Marin - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/mercedes-marin
Naomi Vona - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/naomi-vona
Natasha Monfared - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/natasha-monfared
Nia Hefe Filliogianni - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/nia-hefe-filiogianni
Nina Schulze - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/nina-schulze
Olivia Rose - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/olivia-rose
ONOH - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/o-noh
Onuchukwu Okezie Emmanuel -
www.creativedebuts.co.uk/ozed_arts
Pal Kumar - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/pal-kumar
Patricia Brace - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/patricia-brace
Queenie Djan - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/queenie-djan
Rayvenn Shaleigh D'Clark - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/rayvenn-shaleigha-dclark
Roshani Patel - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/roshani-patel
Ruby Rowan Gleeson - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/ruby-rowan-gleeson
Ryan Oakley - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/ryan-oakley
Sanya Torkmorad-Jozavi - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/sanya-torkmorad-jozavi
Tabitha Carver - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/tabitha-carver
Timothy Martin - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/viagra-vuitton
Zoe Alexandria Paton Burt - www.creativedebuts.co.uk/zoe-burt

Follow us on Instagram on @CreativeDebuts for more news.

----

Press Release: February 2018

Artists unite to call for greater diversity in the arts on International Women’s Day

An international feminist exhibition showcasing a wealth of artists is coming to London.

In celebration of International Women’s Day on 8 March 2018, 40 boundary breaking feminist artists will exhibit in Empowerment, a show co-curated by Creative Debuts and Nasty Women Exhibition in New York in collaboration with Nasty Women movements in North East England, London, Amsterdam, Lisbon, and Brussels.

The exhibition Empowerment coincides with International Women’s Day and will take place in Shoreditch, London. “Empowerment is calling for greater diversity in the arts and accelerating gender equality” says Calum Hall, Co-Founder of Creative Debuts.

In September 2017, Creative Debuts successfully held their first feminist art show with Nasty Women Exhibition London with over 3,000 people attending the opening night alone. Empowerment is the second exhibition held in London with the Nasty Women movement. “We try to listen hard to our community and represent their views” says Calum Hall, Co-Founder of Creative Debuts. “Last year, many of our female artists expressed the challenges they have faced in the being recognised, exhibiting, and selling their work. We felt it was important to support them and offer a space to address the issues they had experienced.”

Creative Debuts is part of Nasty Women’s global art movement set up in reaction to growing misogyny and exclusion experienced by female creatives. The movement, which was founded in New York in January 2017, takes its name from a comment Donald Trump made about Hillary Clinton during a televised debate in the run up to the US Presidential elections. The term was reclaimed by women who used social media to rally, and empower others to take a stand for women’s rights and gender equality.

“Nasty Women New York has teamed up with Creative Debuts to fulfil its responsibility of continuing to support the feminist movement” says Carolina Wheat-Nielsen, Curator and Organiser of Nasty Women Exhibition in NYC. "It is important that all genders are included as part of the debate. Empowerment has been as inclusive as possible welcoming submissions from artists regardless of their gender, sexual orientation, experience with art, or political viewpoints.”

Artists from as far and wide as the United States, Nigeria, New Zealand, Iran, Germany, Netherlands, Greece, Sweden, and the UK will be exhibiting at Empowerment. Works including photography, collage, digital art, fine art, sculpture, craft, and ceramics. Part of the money raised from the exhibition will be donated to End Violence Against Women Coalition to protect women’s rights worldwide.

Highlights include

  • Los Angeles-based Lila Ash’s digitally illustrated comic series are inspired by true stories based on people who identify with the #MeToo movement that anonymously submitted to her via social media.

  • British Iranian artist Sanya Torkmorad-Jozavi’s Acid Attack aims to put a spotlight on her experiences and fears of living in London due to the increasing reports of attacks towards Muslims, threat of ISIS, and Brexit referendum due to her appearance. By using performative art, Sanya wanted to capture these repeated acts of violence by solidifying the verbal and physical experiences Muslim women in particular are subjected to. The photograph is of Sanya in traditional Iranian clothing with splashes of white paint to represent the men behind these unprovoked acid attacks.

  • Viagra Vuitton (Timothy Martin) is a drag artist exploring the spectrum of gender and art through documentarian style photography. She herself values her nastiness, and strives to be a feminine icon showcasing all the best and dirtiest aspects of the Femme Fatale. VIAGRA is purely based on narcissism - she hates to go unnoticed and adores herself believing she is the star of any show and this is how every woman should see herself. Putting loyalty to their sisters above all.

  • The Sustain Series by London-based Helena Cardow are a series of photographs that capture a conceptual collection of garments tackling a range of themes and are shot in the streets of Lagos. The Condom Dress highlights issues around safe sex and the HIV crisis in Africa, The TV Dress tackles the e-waste and recycling issues created by modern societies, and The Magazine Dress is fashioned from the discarded pages of consumerism. Often marginalised in society, the black female models are celebrated and captured as the Critical Cover girl.

  • Pal Kumar was intrigued and inspired by the intricate almost conflicting relationship between the stillness of realism and dynamism of movement. In his hyper-realistic drawing My Grandmother’s Nature, he focuses celebrating his family by drawing his grandmother who impacted his artistic journey.

    “A lot of work still needs to be done to make the art world more inclusive” says Calum Hall, Co- Founder of Creative Debuts. “Empowerment is just the start! We will build on this work later in the year with The Anti Art Fair to continue challenging perceptions, create debate, and offer a platform to those on the margins of the art sector.”

    Empowerment will be a preview to The Anti Art Fair that will take place on 4 - 7 October 2018. Creative Debuts will be working with a range of partners to deliver The Anti Art Fair to coincide with Frieze Art Fair in London. The fair will be a celebration of creativity and the voice for change in the art world that puts the creators at centre stage. “Following on from Creative Debuts’ support for equality, female empowerment, diversity and accessibility” says Calum Hall “The Anti Art Fair will be a direct response to the sterilised, exclusive and money driven art world.”

    Empowerment will take place at 7-11pm on 8 - 10 March, Black & White Building, 74 Rivington Street, London, EC2A 3AY. Tickets start at £5.86 and includes entry, a goodie bag, and a charity donation for End Violence Against Women Coalition. Buy tickets

-Ends-

Tickets for Empowerment start at £5.86 and includes entry, a goodie bag, and a charity donation for End Violence Against Women Coalition. Buy tickets

Opening times

7 – 11pm
Thursday 8 March 2018 / Friday 9 March 2018 / Saturday 10 March 2018

Notes to Editors: About Empowerment

  • Empowerment has been co-curated by Creative Debuts and Nasty Women: Exhibition in New York in collaboration with Nasty Women movements in North East England, London, Amsterdam, Lisbon, and Brussels.

  • Empowerment is a preview to The Anti Art Fair that will take place on 4 - 7 October 2018.

  • Empowerment is internationally focused and will feature 40 boundary breaking feminist artists from as far and wide as the United States, Nigeria, New Zealand, Iran, Germany, Netherlands, Greece, Sweden, and the UK.

  • The full artists list is Airco Caravan; Ana Rosa Louis; Angharad Pelling; Ashton Attzs; Caley Holmboe; Catherine Howell; Chavaga Lilya; Chewon Kim; Diane Watson; Eve De Haan; Flora Weil; Florence Given; Francena Ottley; Helena Cardow; Isabel Rock; Jasmine Sehra; Jekein Lato-Unah; Jessica Ross; Kei Maye; Ken Nwadiogbu; Lila Ash; Mercedes Marin; Naomi Vona; Natasha Monfared; Nia Hefe Filiogianni; Nina Schulze; Olivia Rose; ONOH; Onuchukwu Okezie Emmanuel; Pal Kumar; Patricia Brace; Queenie Djan; Rayvenn Shaleigha D'Clark; Roshani Patel; Ruby Rowan Gleeson; Ryan Oakley; Sanya Torkmorad-Jozavi; Tabitha Carver; Timothy Martin; and Zoe Alexandria Paton Burt.

  • Empowerment will take place at 7-11pm on 8 - 10 March, Black & White Building, 74 Rivington Street, London, EC2A 3AY. Tickets start at £5.86 and includes entry, a goodie bag, and a charity donation for End Violence Against Women Coalition. Buy tickets

    About The Anti Art Fair

  • Empowerment is a preview to The Anti Art Fair that will take place on 4 - 7 October 2018 In Peckham, London. Creative Debuts will be working with a range of partners to deliver The Anti Art Fair to coincide with Frieze Art Fair in London. The fair will be a celebration of creativity and the voice for change in the art world that puts the creators at centre stage.

  • Limited early bird tickets are available and start at £5.98. Buy Tickets.

About Creative Debuts

  • Creative Debuts is a leading platform championing emerging artists and designers from around the world. Our aim is to make art more accessible and to tackle the hurdles faced by undiscovered creatives. We help to do this by showcasing and commissioning artists, selling unique artwork, hosting events, and connecting artists with businesses.

  • Find out more at creativedebuts.co.uk and follow us on social @CreativeDebuts About Nasty Women

  • Nasty Women Exhibition is a global art movement that serves to demonstrate solidarity among artists. It draws together those who identify with being a Nasty Woman in the face of threats to roll back women’s rights, individual rights, and abortion rights.

  • The first Nasty Women event was held in New York, USA on 12-15 January 2017. It was started by Roxanne Jackson and Jessamyn Fiore with a Facebook post that read ‘Hello female artists/curators! Let’s organize a NASTY WOMEN group show!!! Who’s interested???’ The massive response has taken this call to arms into building an ever-expanding network of Nasty Women Artists and Art Organizers that have culminated into multiple exhibitions.

    About End Violence Against Women Coalition

  • End Violence Against Women Coalition is a leading coalition of specialist women’s support services, researchers, activists, survivors and NGOs working to end violence against women and girls in all its forms.

  • Established in 2005, they campaign for every level of government to adopt better, more joined up approaches to ending and preventing violence against women and girls, and we challenge the wider cultural attitudes that tolerate and condone this abuse.